• Kelly Wagner OASN 2023 School Nurse of the Year

    Kelly Wagner, Ohio Department of Education Licensed School Nurse at Dempsey Middle School, is this year’s Ohio Association of School Nurses (OASN) 2023 School Nurse of the Year. Kelly has been a School Nurse for 16 years, serving the Dempsey school community in the Delaware City Schools District for the past 9 years and the entire River Valley Local Schools District for 7 years prior. She is currently the School Nurse Coordinator for Delaware City Schools District which has a student population of approximately 5,500 K-12 students. Kelly is a Nationally Certified School Nurse having achieved professional recognition of expertise in the specialty of school nursing.

    “I am incredibly humbled and honored to be named Ohio’s School Nurse of the Year," said Wagner. “It is a tremendous feeling when your peers recognize and acknowledge the passion, professionalism, and heart that you put into your work. I am so grateful for and blessed by my fellow school nurse colleagues who continuously inspire and push me to be better all the time!”

    Kelly served as OASN President for two years (2020-2022) leading Ohio school nurses through the peak of the COVID-19 pandemic and was instrumental in planning OASN’s return to an in-person conference in 2022. Kelly continues her involvement with OASN as Chair of the OASN Education and Endowment Advisory Committee and planning this year’s OASN Annual Conference which will celebrate the 50 years OASN has been a professional organization for Ohio school nurses.

    Kelly graduated from Ohio State University (OSU) with her Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing where she played the trumpet in OSU’s Marching Band (TBDBITL) and was squad leader her last year. She holds her Masters in Education, Health and Wellness from the American College of Education.

    On Friday, April 14th, at the annual OASN Conference, Kelly will be recognized for this achievement and will also receive the Excellence in School Nursing Award for Ohio through the National Association of School Nurses in June.