School Nurse of the Year

Do you know an outstanding Licensed School Nurse (LSN) who you would like recognized for her significant contributions to school nursing and school health? Nominate that LSN for the 2017 Ohio School Nurse of the Year. Deadline for Nomination January 15th, 2019.

Each year, the Ohio Association of School Nurses (OASN) honors an outstanding school nurse with the OASN School Nurse of the Year Award. Each Region is asked to nominate at least one candidate for this honor and a panel of qualified experienced judges determines the final award winner who is recognized throughout the year and honored at a reception at our annual conference.

To complete forms, download the forms onto your computer, complete the forms and send them back to Executive Director, Dzidra Brown either by US Mail at PO Box 118, New Straitsville, OH 43766 or by email attachment at If you have any questions please feel free to contact Dzidra Browni by email or by phone at 330-749-5068.

SNOY Submission Guidelines

SNOY Nomination Form

SNOY Application Criteria

School Nurses of the Year

1982-1983: Roberta Maloney, Southwest
1983-1984: Miriam Alexander, Northeast
1984-1985: Ann Ostermeyer, Northeast
1985-1986: Pauline Keubler, Northeast
1986-1987: Gretchen Rice, Central
1987-1988: Sue Will, Southeast
1988-1989: Pat Baum, Central
1989-1990: Bev Klitz, Southwest
1990-1991: Dian Partlow, Southeast
1991-1992: Joy Wehagen, Northeast
1992-1993: Kathy Rowland, Central
1993-1994: Diana Tirpak, Northeast -- Also the recipient of the National School Nurse of the Year award in 1994 *
1994-1995: Mary Jo McCandlish, Central
1995-1996: Linda Hilvert, Southwest
1996-1997: Betty Holton, Southwest
1997-1998: Nancy Rini, Central -- Also the recipient of the National School Nurse of the Year award in 1998 *
1998-1999: Opal Sherman, Northwest
1999-2000: Evelyn Wisham, Northeast
2000-2001: Shery Bjerke, Central
2001-2002: Kathy O’Dell, Southwest
2002-2003: Linda Miller, Central
2003-2004: Gail Pohlman, Southeast
2004-2005: Kathy Strasser, Southwest
2005-2006: Debbie Strouse, Central
2006-2007: Norma Nikkola, Southwest -- Also the recipient of the National School Nurse of the Year award in 2007 *
2007-2008: Eva Garchar, Southwest
2008-2009: Aurelia Barney, Northeast
2009-2010: Joan Keith, Central
2010-2011: Heidi Steiner, Northeast
2011-2012: Carol Lynne O’Neil, Central
2012-2013: Maureen Knowles, Northwest
2013-2014: no recipient
2014-2015: Annette Scott, Southeast
2015-2016: Kim Carpenter, Central
2016-2017: Peggy Sutton
2017-2018: Sherdina Williams MEd, RN, LSN, Northeast


* A National School Nurse of the Year is no longer awarded. The award has been replaced by the Excellence in School Nursing award.